health is wealth being

several interesting developments in my music world….it seems the moog bass pedals we need don’t come out until Feb. That puts a break on some things. If anyone has any idea of where i might find some of those old school taurus bass pedals on the east coast http://www.moogmusic.com/taurus/?product_id=21299&section=product       <—that is the newer version and they look so fly!

im sitting at wired…free translator re-birthed me last night. For the past few weeks my mind has been cluttered, but some of my tracks have definitely evolved in way i never thought possible. Apologies for not having any music up here, still trying to establish a schedule that allows me to post on “andyourrunningout” more frequently. I’d imagine in the coming weeks you will find some clips of the newer stuff up here (for several projects).

To give you an idea of whats to come. The concept is to (as organically as possible) permit miniature bits of improvisation collect more and even smaller pieces of sound to tell a story that should’ve never been told. For example I may take a clip from a piano concerto (recorded in 1945 or some shit) and cut it up to fit a song with clips from a monumental woman’s rights speech mixed with some distorted drums recorded by me in a old barn. I may go to park and record some birds, or just “happen” to leave the air conditioner on during a pump organ take. This is new. Found sound collage has been seeping more and more into music, at the for-front of this, bands like The Books (www.thebooksmusic.com/) and http://www.negativland.com/. You may wonder… How can you take credit for something like this? If most of the stuff you just named off sounds like you did nothing more than drop bits of audio together by other people and call it your own. Regretfully, I am unable to answer this question myself. However (through my self-debating on ” how far is 2 far”) the music has all been composed and if not recorded under my supervision. I keep this in mind when dropping in unrelated clips…then question; am I bringing this clip back to life? doing it justice? how will it affect the listener? It has to have intention behind it, or else its just “something else”.

Ok…back to work on these tracks. when they are posted, would love to hear your feedback…in the meantime consider this an orientation into the world of “found sound” to help you possibly better understand what I may, or may not be trying to accomplish.

some good information on creative commons from Negativeland

The Books – Classy Penguin

JMK ❤

Leave a Reply

